Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    60

    Unanswered: Store Procedure Type

    How do I change a store procedure type from 'User' to 'System'
    jaraba

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    311

    Re: Store Procedure Type

    You can't

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322

    Re: Store Procedure Type

    Originally posted by jaraba
    How do I change a store procedure type from 'User' to 'System'
    Is the question,

    "how do I get my stored procedure to run from any database on an instance"?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    65
    If your looking to change the owner of the SP, you can do that.

    open the SP in the Query manager.

    CREATE PROCEDURE dbo.ip_log <--to make it owned by the dbo

    to make it owned by a user

    CREATE PROCEDURE userName.ip_log

    I've had to do this to create some SP's owned by the dbo on an application I produced which was to be run on a shared server. In order to get server jobs to run the procedures (server jobs on this server could only be created by the dbo user, which I wasn't, lol)

    So I had to change the user to allow the server job to see the SP.

    Hope this helps? If not, can you give us a lot more information on what your doing so we understand the problem?

    Thanks
    -Ashleigh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    522
    you didn't have to do it. all you had to do was to call them by fully qualified name: schema_name.procedure_name

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Why ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •