Thread: Requirement

Requirement

My resume was sent for a job and one of there requirements is:
    'They will be doing the design and architecture of production stabilization (this is not a development position).'

I am not sure what that means.

Please explain.............

Production stabilization....What kind of company is this for? What is the name of the position you are applying for?

Certus,

Thanks for responding so quickly!!!
    I applied for a dba position with a bank.
    They want to interview me!
    I have been a dba for 5 years and never heard of production stabilization.

Here are the requirements:

Need a Oracle DBA with the following skills:

Required:

Manager requested someone with articulate communication.

need someone that has at least 1 terabyte experience
    exp with 9i
    They will be doing the design and architecture of production stabilization (this is not a development position).
    Someone from a datawarehousing environment.
    Unix Korn Shell scripting experience

Desired:
    OCP
    Ab Initio

Key Points:
    Team is growing.....right now it is a small group of 4 team members.
    Exposure to a variety of environments
    Will be upgrading to 10G soon
    If they are not an OCP this will give them some good experience to pass the exam

I found this:

http://citeseer.nj.nec.com/context/308296/0

Can't say I have ever heard the term in computing or banking, personally.

May be an economics concept.

http://econpapers.hhs.se/article/ucp..._3a1011-33.htm

"production stabilization" just means their production database is not stable and they need someone to stabilize it

for example, sometimes the system hums along nicely, but sometimes it grinds to a halt, sometimes the applications work, sometimes they get rolled back for resource contention, sometimes the programs abort for data integrity problems, sometimes the database is not available, sometimes the database server crashes, sometimes... , sometimes... , sometimes...