Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Unanswered: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    hi
    i am raj,i am a student trying to install prointralink,a product of ptc.com,which is a pdm system,i have installed dataserver along with which oracle gets automatically installed.when i try to log into that so called data server ,it keeps on giving me error

    ORA- 01034 : ORACLE not available
    ORA-27101 : shared memory realm does not exist

    username and pwd that i am using is system/Manager

    so please let me know what might be the reason.
    i am totally new to installations also if possible please let me know

    1.how to start and stop oracle database
    2. where can we see whether database is started or not.
    3. also in many online forums i have seen the answer for the same question but was very different,someone saying to change tnsnames.ora and someothers saying to change some other .ora files,so lease let me know the steps that i should do for a succesfull connection to my database

    operating system is windows 2000

    please help me in this regard

    regards
    raj

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    write here what is the sid of the database in order to give you all the short steps to start the database. The problem that you have is that the database is shutdown.
    Joel Pérez

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,296
    assuming this is 9i and you only have one sid on the host and the configuration is all set up on the host.

    log into the host server.
    open a command prompt.
    type: sqlplus /nolog
    <return>
    <return>
    type: connect /as sysdba
    type: startup


    see if that works.
    - The_Duck
    you can lead someone to something but they will never learn anything ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Re: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    Originally posted by joelperez
    write here what is the sid of the database in order to give you all the short steps to start the database. The problem that you have is that the database is shutdown.
    first let me thank you for a quick reply

    let me be clear about this

    1. i have not installed oracle explicitly,it was installed by pro intralink that i mentioned prevoiusly

    2.i dont know neither the databases that exist in the installed oracle nor the sid's

    3.but i am sure that i should not create one more database,as pro intralink should use default database.

    4.regarding the sid that u have asked i have just seen in the ORACLE_HOME\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora , a line was there

    SID = abc

    is this is right

    5. please let me know without starting database itself,how can i know what are the default databases and sid's of that databases that came with the installation.

    am i clear.
    please ask me if i need to send anymore details.

    bye
    raj

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    tried with ur steps,but couldnot

    Originally posted by The_Duck
    assuming this is 9i and you only have one sid on the host and the configuration is all set up on the host.

    log into the host server.
    open a command prompt.
    type: sqlplus /nolog
    <return>
    <return>
    type: connect /as sysdba
    type: startup


    see if that works.
    hi

    thanks for ur reply, tried with ur steps,but when typing connect /as sysdba,i am getting ,ORA-01031 ,insufficient privelages,i have logged into my pc as administrator with username administrator itself.

    even i tried as connect internal,it is asking for some password.

    so please let me know what should i do now.

    bye

    raj

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    1. i have not installed oracle explicitly,it was installed by pro intralink that i mentioned prevoiusly

    r.-Ok

    2.i dont know neither the databases that exist in the installed oracle nor the sid's

    r.- It is natural because you have not installed any database neither the Oracle Server Software

    3.but i am sure that i should not create one more database,as pro intralink should use default database.

    r.- Ok

    4.regarding the sid that u have asked i have just seen in the ORACLE_HOME\network\ADMIN\tnsnames.ora , a line was there

    SID = abc

    is this is right

    r.- Not, necesaryly must be it, but for the case really it does not care

    5. please let me know without starting database itself,how can i know what are the default databases and sid's of that databases that came with the installation.

    r.- The installation of the Oracle Server software has several options to choose. With one of those options you can install only the software , with another you can install the software and create a database but you have to assign a SID to the database.
    Joel Pérez

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    so how can i say the sid to u now

    as u have said in the message that while installing oracle we can install only the software or software+database ,where we assign the sid manually.
    that is ok

    so now in our condition,where we did not run any wizards of oracle installation,u have asked me the sid but how can i find the sid of the default database.please let me know.

    bye
    raj

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: so how can i say the sid to u now

    Originally posted by reddy_dbforum
    as u have said in the message that while installing oracle we can install only the software or software+database ,where we assign the sid manually.
    that is ok

    so now in our condition,where we did not run any wizards of oracle installation,u have asked me the sid but how can i find the sid of the default database.please let me know.

    bye
    raj
    Look for in the windows registry an enviroment variable called ORACLE_SID and reply the value
    Joel Pérez

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    the sid in registry is ilnk

    Originally posted by joelperez
    Look for in the windows registry an enviroment variable called ORACLE_SID and reply the value
    i have seen as u have said an in that the value was

    ilnk

    so please let me know the steps that i should carry on now.


    bye
    raj

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: the sid in registry is ilnk

    Originally posted by reddy_dbforum
    i have seen as u have said an in that the value was

    ilnk

    so please let me know the steps that i should carry on now.


    bye
    raj
    ilnk is the SID of a database installed in your server. Now, what is what you want ? start it ?
    Joel Pérez

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: the sid in registry is ilnk

    in the command prompt do this:

    SET ORACLE_SID=ilnk

    sqlplus /nolog

    conn / as sysdba

    startup

    and reply the results
    Joel Pérez

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Re: the sid in registry is ilnk

    Originally posted by joelperez
    ilnk is the SID of a database installed in your server. Now, what is what you want ? start it ?
    the main error that i am getting is Ora-01034 / Ora-27101 ,
    what might be the reason for the error
    is it that the database is shutdown?

    sorry if i am aksing more questions as this is my first database installation

    please let me know
    raj

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Re: the sid in registry is ilnk

    Originally posted by joelperez
    in the command prompt do this:

    SET ORACLE_SID=ilnk

    sqlplus /nolog

    conn / as sysdba

    startup

    and reply the results


    hi

    Tried with ur steps,but when typing connect /as sysdba,i am getting ,ORA-01031 ,insufficient privelages,i have logged into my pc as administrator with username administrator itself.

    even i tried as connect internal,it is asking for some password.

    so please let me know what should i do now.

    bye

    raj

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Venezuela
    Posts
    151

    Re: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    What Oracle version do you have ?
    Joel Pérez

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    12

    Re: Ora-01034 / Ora-27101

    Originally posted by joelperez
    What Oracle version do you have ?


    oracle 8.1.7.4.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •