Question Unanswered: How do I move a table to a different table space

Hello,

I'm new to using DB2 (and this forum) and need a little help.

I'm trying to move some tables from one table space to another.

Environment:

Windows 2000 Server SP4
    DB2 8.1 with Fixpack 4.

The reason behind me even trying to do this is that we need to be able to restore indivitdual tables from multiple schemas that reside in a single database.

If anyone knows of a way to structure DB2 to allow this then please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

Re: How do I move a table to a different table space

I don't think there is any way other than drop/create of the table

If you come to know of an alternative please let us know

Cheers
    Sathyaram

Originally posted by Bill Hopgood
    Hello,

Environment:

Windows 2000 Server SP4
    DB2 8.1 with Fixpack 4.

The reason behind me even trying to do this is that we need to be able to restore indivitdual tables from multiple schemas that reside in a single database.

If anyone knows of a way to structure DB2 to allow this then please let me know.

Thanks in advance.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

Talking Re: How do I move a table to a different table space

I'm note sure this will help. I'm on Unix but maybe it's the same since you are using V8.1 You can do a redirected restore and specify a new tablespace. The catch is IBM says they have table level recovery but they don't really. It is tablespace recovery. If you have one table per TBLSP then you get table recovery. :-0

As much as I hate Command Center it should allow you to do this (I no longer use it but kind of remember something). If not, let me know and I'll give you the Unix syntax which you can use to determine the syntax for Windows. I'm pretty sure they are very similar for this.