Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Is it possible to replicate a (sybase) database on Linux to sybase WindowsNT?

    Is it possible to replicate a (sybase) database on Linux to sybase WindowsNT using dump and load commands?? (sybase version is 12.5.1 on WinNT platform and 12.0.0.4 on Linux platform).

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    524
    No using dump/load

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    5
    Originally posted by fadace
    No using dump/load
    So, how I can do this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    524
    Using the migration tool delivred with ASE 12.5.0.3
    OR
    using the old and fastidious method : defncopy + bcp out/in

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Willy is on vacation
    Posts
    1,208

    Re: Is it possible to replicate a (sybase) database on Linux to sybase WindowsNT?

    Originally posted by Abbat
    Is it possible to replicate a (sybase) database on Linux to sybase WindowsNT using dump and load commands?? (sybase version is 12.5.1 on WinNT platform and 12.0.0.4 on Linux platform).
    Sybase replication Server can perform cross platform data movement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    3

    Re: Is it possible to replicate a (sybase) database on Linux to sybase WindowsNT?

    Originally posted by willy_and_the_ci
    Sybase replication Server can perform cross platform data movement.
    If This is a One time Effort the Best Way to do is Using Creating the Database and the Structure and then the Bcp/Out and Bcp-IN.

    But if you want to do it on a continual basis, sybase Replication Server will do the Job Nicely.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •