Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: Script for Creating a Stored Procedure???

    Hello,
    I'm trying to create a store procedure from an interface which is similiar to Query Analyzer, but I can't get it to work and I don't get an error message...so I'm not sure what error I am receiving. Please see the below sp_get_topics (#1) which is not saving and sp_get_topics (#2 works). Thanks in advance....

    --#1--
    CREATE PROCEDURE [sp_get_topics] AS
    SELECT t_1.Topic, t_1.Message, t_1.Create_Date, t_2.Username
    FROM t_1 WITH (READUNCOMMITTED) LEFT OUTER JOIN
    t_2 WITH (READUNCOMMITTED) ON t_1.User_ID = t_2.ID
    GO

    --#2--
    CREATE PROCEDURE [sp_get_topics]
    AS
    SELECT Topic, Message, Create_Date
    FROM t_1
    GO

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    When you're saying that it "is not saving" you mean you can't compile it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    I hope this is intentional to demonstrate your dilemna but both procs have the same name.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    Which version of sql server are you using ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by rnealejr
    Which version of sql server are you using ?
    1) I hope this is intentional to demonstrate your dilemna but both procs have the same name. -- right...I'm trying to compile it with different names, so there's no conflict.

    2) Which version of sql server are you using ? -- 2000
    Last edited by nolc; 01-14-04 at 20:11.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by rdjabarov
    When you're saying that it "is not saving" you mean you can't compile it?
    Yes, I meant "compile it".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,662
    Replace READUNCOMMITTED with NOLOCK

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    uuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Why aren't you using QA?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by rdjabarov
    Replace READUNCOMMITTED with NOLOCK
    Yeah...I've tried with & without WITH (READUNCOMMITTED) and WITH (NOLOCK), still doesn't work. I'm working with a crappy Entreprise Manager which is web based interface, so that's probably the problem.

    Any ideas? Thanks again...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by Brett Kaiser
    uuummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

    Why aren't you using QA?

    please read below....thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Why do you want uncommitted data?

    Don't you think that would be dangerous and be a problem with data integrity?

    And why can't you install the client tools locally?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted by Brett Kaiser
    Why do you want uncommitted data?

    Don't you think that would be dangerous and be a problem with data integrity?

    And why can't you install the client tools locally?

    I'm not planning on sticking with the "WITH (readuncommitted)"...I'm just trying every possible way to get this annoying interface to work.

    You're right if I was worried about data integrity I wouldn't want to go this route...but it's just a personal site of mine. And still I don't want to use it.

    Install the client tools locally? -- I'm using a my web hosts crappy ASP.Net Enterprise Manager (www.aspenterprisemanager.com) version to manipulate my sql tables (which is I guess an old version), so I have to use scripts to create all tables & stored procedures within their version of Query Analyzer. I guess there is a better version out there somewhere, but I haven't been able to get the feedback to know how to setup it up. I would love to use my SQL Server Enterprise Manager locally, but don't know how. If you have any ideas....please let me know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •