Question Unanswered: Problem with UTL_FILE package...

Hi,
    I’m studying for the 1Z0-147 exam and I’m trying to work with the UTL_FILE package. I wrote one procedure (sal_status from the class book) but I can’t open the file. I always have the message:

ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-29280: invalid directory path
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.UTL_FILE", line 18
    ORA-06512: at "SYS.UTL_FILE", line 424
    ORA-06512: at "HR.SAL_STATUS", line 16
    ORA-06512: at line 1

What can be the problem?
    I added in my init.ora file the parameter: UTL_FILE_DIR = *
    Normally with that I can write everywhere in my PC, isn’t it?

To be sure about this rule, I tried to write my file in the same directory than the log files (/bdump or /udump), but I always have the same error:

SQL> exec sal_status('C:\oracle\admin\HR\bdump','erw.txt');
    BEGIN sal_status('C:\oracle\admin\HR\bdump','erw.txt'); END;

ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-06512: at "HR.SAL_STATUS", line 16
    ORA-06512: at line 1

If I try directly the command FOPEN, I have the same problem:

SQL> edit
    Wrote file afiedt.buf

1 DECLARE
    2 v_filehandle UTL_FILE.FILE_TYPE;
    3 BEGIN
    4 v_filehandle := UTL_FILE.FOPEN('C:\oracle\admin\HR\bdump\','erw.tx t','w');
    5* END;
    SQL> /
    DECLARE
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-06512: at line 4

I also tried with the parameter: utl_file_dir=*

Can you help me? Thank you…

Provided Answers: 1

Re: Problem with UTL_FILE package...

The file has to be on the server, not the client. Unless you are running a personal copy of Oracle installed on your PC, the server will be another machine, perhaps a Unix or NT box, so local files on your C drive will not be accessible.

Re: Problem with UTL_FILE package...

Do you the Oracle Server in the same machine where you are working ?

Apart from that apply this command in SQL*Plus and reply the result:

show parameters utl_file

What Oracle version are you using , 8i or 9i ?
    Joel Pérez

Arrow