Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: HELP in installing SQL 7.0

I installed SQL 7.0 in windows 2000, at first it was working fine but after a few hours it cannot connect to my database.

I reformat my pc coz I was so desperate to make it work but after reformatting SQL won't work still. It cannot connect with my database which is also the same computer. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling it over and over but I still face the same problem.

The SQL Server Service Manager there's nothing in the Service boxes.

I need your Help really bad!!!

Please post error messages that you get and relevant lines from the SQL Server error log. How are you connecting to the SQL Server? Vague questions solicit vague answers.

Smile

There are no error messages, In the SQL Service manager there's only "Distributed Transaction Coorditor" in the Services box, no MS SQL Server. And when I opened the enterprise manager, there are no items under the SQL server group. I'm only starting to learn SQL and VB6, and I'm dying to install them to my home pc. Thanks.

Look for installation log files - like sqlsp*.log. When you installed the application did you receive any errors ?

Originally posted by rnealejr
    Look for installation log files - like sqlsp*.log. When you installed the application did you receive any errors ?
    I searched the installer cd and may hard drive but there was no file sqlsp*.log. There was no error during installation, all components were installed but no data base recognized.

That's because it's called sqlstp.log :-) Have a look for that and post it up.

Smile registry missing

I've searched the sqlstp.log file from my installer but didn't find any.

i don't know if it matters, but when I checked the regedt32.exe, I can't find the sql entries. It is missing in my pc with win2000 platform. I used the same installer in my other pc with win xp, and sql worked, when I looked at the registry all the sql entries was there.

Thank you for your Help