Unanswered: NText field in SQL??

Hello All,

Maybe a stupid question but I'm new to the db admin work so please bear with me.

I've imported an Access db into SQL, in the Access db the field type was 'memo' to accomodate the large amount of text (on avg ruffly 4100 chars. with spaces). Now in SQL the field in the table I have set up as an ntext field, which I understood to be equivalent to a memo field in Access.

My problem is when saving data to the field the first time it saves all the data correctly with the exception of the field in question. The data in the field is '<LongText>', now when I try to update the data in the table I get a 'Data Truncated' error message and no update takes place throughout the table.

After testing this and trying different things, I've found that if I shorten this one field and try to save to the db I still get the 'Data Truncated' error message. If I shorten the data in the field AND delete the record from the SQL table then it will save just fine from there on out (which won't work for the reports).

I'm not sure what I'm missing here to get this to work the way it did in Access.

What are you using to "edit" the data?

The company uses a front end program that saves info to a flat file. When saving the flat file the db saves the information that it's looking for from the file.

How is the data being inserted/updated in sql server ?

In Sql server, there is another data type which is equivalent to a memo data type in Access. That is VARCHAR. If you can sure that the character number for the field is less than 8000, it is better to use VARCHAR as your data type instead of TEXT, NTEXT.

good point gyuan - this is also one of the most common mistakes i see in databases - using a text datatype when varchar would suffice. But Jonathan, you need to validate the requirements for that field. text datatypes present performance and maintainence issues as well.