Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    5

    Unanswered: Informix version 5

    Hi All,
    I am looking for some ODBC drivers that I can use to connect to Informix Ver 5 which is on SCO UNIX from SQL Server / Crystal Reports etc... Does any one know if there are drivers available for this?
    Any help is appriciated.
    Regards
    Saurabh

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: Informix version 5

    Originally posted by s_chaturvedi
    Hi All,
    I am looking for some ODBC drivers that I can use to connect to Informix Ver 5 which is on SCO UNIX from SQL Server / Crystal Reports etc... Does any one know if there are drivers available for this?
    Any help is appriciated.
    Regards
    Saurabh

    Hi Saurabh,

    You will have to first download Informix Client. The link is -
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...ix/tools/csdk/
    Then you can connect thru ODBC.

    Regards,

    Lloyd

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    5

    Re: Informix version 5

    Originally posted by lloydnwo
    Hi Saurabh,

    You will have to first download Informix Client. The link is -
    http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data...ix/tools/csdk/
    Then you can connect thru ODBC.

    Regards,

    Lloyd
    Hi Lloyd,
    Thanks for the help.
    I did install the Informix Client, then I configured the ODBC with what ever information required. When I test for connection I get an error "Internal communications buffer management error detected". Due you have any idea as to why am I getting this error.
    Thanks in advance.
    Regards
    Saurabh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Saurabh,

    This error has got to do with memory corruption. Is Informix online, can you connect to your database thru dbaccess. Try bringing the server down and then start once again. You can refer to error no. 25567

    Regards,

    Lloyd



    Originally posted by s_chaturvedi
    Hi Lloyd,
    Thanks for the help.
    I did install the Informix Client, then I configured the ODBC with what ever information required. When I test for connection I get an error "Internal communications buffer management error detected". Due you have any idea as to why am I getting this error.
    Thanks in advance.
    Regards
    Saurabh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    5

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Lloyd,
    Infomix is online as I can connect using telnet and also I can connect to the database using dbaccess. Do you still think that I should bring down the server and restart it again?
    Regards
    Saurabh

    Originally posted by lloydnwo
    Hi Saurabh,

    This error has got to do with memory corruption. Is Informix online, can you connect to your database thru dbaccess. Try bringing the server down and then start once again. You can refer to error no. 25567

    Regards,

    Lloyd

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Saurab,

    Just make sure you have followed the same steps for
    Installing Client SDK 2.81 (Create a demo database called stores thru the command "dbaccessdemo stores")

    1 Run the client setup file.
    2 To check for connectivity, create a system DSN in ODBC
    3 Enter the following parameters
    Server name: STEPS
    Host name: 10.1.32.22
    Service name: 1526
    Protocol: olsoctcp
    Database name: demo
    User id: test
    Password: test123
    4 Select “Apply & test connection”, it should connect
    5 Similarly do the same settings in Setnet32 (Client SDK)
    6 Make sure there is an entry in both the services & host files at both client & server ends.


    At Client -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.1.32.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    At Server -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.125.12.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    10.125.11.13 lloyd.mot.com ## Client name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    7 Run Ilogon Demo from client SDK & enter the parameters & select OK, we should be able to see records of customer table.

    Regards,

    lloyd

    Originally posted by s_chaturvedi
    Hi Lloyd,
    Infomix is online as I can connect using telnet and also I can connect to the database using dbaccess. Do you still think that I should bring down the server and restart it again?
    Regards
    Saurabh

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    780

    Re: Informix version 5

    Originally posted by s_chaturvedi
    Hi All,
    I am looking for some ODBC drivers that I can use to connect to Informix Ver 5 which is on SCO UNIX from SQL Server / Crystal Reports etc... Does any one know if there are drivers available for this?
    Any help is appriciated.
    Regards
    Saurabh
    Hi Saurabh,

    For connect to On-Line 5 you need install, on server, the Informix-Start and in the Client, the Informix-Net o Client-SDK.
    Now, depending on version Informix 5, the dbaccess do not exist, can you test with ISQL from Server or Ilogin from Client.

    Gustavo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    5

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Lloyd,
    By Server you mean the database server right. Now my Database Server is on SCO unix. So where will I find the files host and services to update the same.
    I am very new to both Unix and Informix. Kindly dont mind if my questions are silly.
    Regards
    Saurabh.

    Originally posted by lloydnwo
    Hi Saurab,

    Just make sure you have followed the same steps for
    Installing Client SDK 2.81 (Create a demo database called stores thru the command "dbaccessdemo stores")

    1 Run the client setup file.
    2 To check for connectivity, create a system DSN in ODBC
    3 Enter the following parameters
    Server name: STEPS
    Host name: 10.1.32.22
    Service name: 1526
    Protocol: olsoctcp
    Database name: demo
    User id: test
    Password: test123
    4 Select “Apply & test connection”, it should connect
    5 Similarly do the same settings in Setnet32 (Client SDK)
    6 Make sure there is an entry in both the services & host files at both client & server ends.


    At Client -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.1.32.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    At Server -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.125.12.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    10.125.11.13 lloyd.mot.com ## Client name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    7 Run Ilogon Demo from client SDK & enter the parameters & select OK, we should be able to see records of customer table.

    Regards,

    lloyd

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    OH
    Posts
    5

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Lloyd,
    I did what ever you had asked me to do. I am still not able to connect to the server. Any Idea why?
    Regards
    Saurabh

    Originally posted by lloydnwo
    Hi Saurab,

    Just make sure you have followed the same steps for
    Installing Client SDK 2.81 (Create a demo database called stores thru the command "dbaccessdemo stores")

    1 Run the client setup file.
    2 To check for connectivity, create a system DSN in ODBC
    3 Enter the following parameters
    Server name: STEPS
    Host name: 10.1.32.22
    Service name: 1526
    Protocol: olsoctcp
    Database name: demo
    User id: test
    Password: test123
    4 Select “Apply & test connection”, it should connect
    5 Similarly do the same settings in Setnet32 (Client SDK)
    6 Make sure there is an entry in both the services & host files at both client & server ends.


    At Client -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.1.32.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    At Server -

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\services
    Turbo 1526/tcp ## Remote server ocsserver
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    C:\Winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts
    10.125.12.18 ocsserver.mot.com ## Server name
    10.125.11.13 lloyd.mot.com ## Client name
    (Make sure that there is a blank line after the above entry)

    7 Run Ilogon Demo from client SDK & enter the parameters & select OK, we should be able to see records of customer table.

    Regards,

    lloyd

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    India
    Posts
    262

    Re: Informix version 5

    Hi Saurabh,

    The database server is your instance name. When you created an instance you must have specified a name. As for host its the SCO unix name, it is found in the hosts file. To see the contents give the command - more /etc/hosts. Service is the type of service you will require to connect from client machines to the server. To see the contents give the command - more /etc/services.

    Eg.

    Hosts file -
    10.1.12.16 nb4-solaris loghost

    Services file
    sqlexec 1526/tcp # Informix
    (There should be an entry for Informix in the services file)
    These are setting you will need to specify for your ODBC connections.
    BTW i have never worked on Informix 5, these are the settings followed in Informix 7.x & higher ver.

    Regards,

    Lloyd


    Originally posted by s_chaturvedi
    Hi Lloyd,
    By Server you mean the database server right. Now my Database Server is on SCO unix. So where will I find the files host and services to update the same.
    I am very new to both Unix and Informix. Kindly dont mind if my questions are silly.
    Regards
    Saurabh.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •