Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    223

    Unanswered: How to load a big database?

    Hello,

    Does everyone have experience to load a big database? My SQL Server 2K is running on W2K. The database is 4GB, and the biggest table has 12 million records. Thanks a lot.

    ytz

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    West
    Posts
    101

    Re: How to load a big database?

    BCP utility

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    454
    What does "to load a big database" mean?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    63
    What does "to load a big database" mean?
    Please explain exactly what do you want to do .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    223
    "to load a big database" is to import a new big database from another SQL Server.

    Thanks everyone

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    63
    Full back up the primary data base. And than restore the .bak file in the target server ( it may be take sometime but it always work).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Penang, Malaysia
    Posts
    212
    If you can spare the downtime, close the SQL Sever Services,
    go to your Data and Log file and copy to your destination DB and attach it.

    There are many ways to do this, but I prefer this way as its clean, and
    does not be a burden to the existing DB for extra processing if using import.
    Patrick Chua
    LBMS ( Learn By My Self) NPQ ( No paper Qualification )

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,232
    detach/attach (or like mentioned shutdown your sql server service and copy to the destination), copy database wizard, bcp, bulk load, dts ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •