Unanswered: MS Access and Visual Basic

Hello there,

I am new to Visual Basic and have a question that may seem naive (apologies in advance).

I am developing an application that will be used for educational purposes (free), and thus many of the users may be younger and not have MS Access installed on their machines.

If I include connections to an MS Access database in my project, will it work on their machines? I was going to include the database I will be using in the installed package.

I have noticed some applications like Franklin Covey Planner use an Access database in their package, but have not tested them on a machine that doesn't have Access already installed.

Also, will I run into any licensing problems if I use an Access database included in my application?

If this is a problem, I am open to alternatives.

THANKS!

Kringen:
    If you are willing to use another database, I recommend downloading mySQL (http://www.mysql.com/downloads/index.html), the myODBC driver and winMySqlAdmin server. mySQL works on stand-alone PCs, in networks and on the internet, for small, medium and large scale databases. Read their licensing agreement. It's quite liberal. All this software is FREE. the installation is easy and VB6/ADO/myODBC works cleanly. If you still want to use Access tables, WITHOUT the users having to purchase MSAccess, you can create Access97-type databases and tables from within a VB6 application using the ADO Extension for DDL and Security.

MySQL

Thanks vududoc,

I have used MySQL on Linux but haven't given it a shot on Windows yet.

That is good to hear that I could use it!

After I compile my application, will the user need the MyODBC driver too, or is that compiled into the end product?

Thanks for your help!

Provided Answers: 1