Unanswered: Excel Database Information on Website

I work with a State agency in Oklahoma. I wear about 15 different hats. One of the hats is to create and maintain our website. It is not a great website but it gets the basic information out to the licensees and the general public. I am very new at working with websites. The state agency that I currently work for uses "Works" (believe it or not) as their database. Everytime I want to take the information from the database I have to save it to text then move it to Excel and then save in a html to use on our website.

I like Excel and would like to start keeping the database in Excel all the time. Is it a good idea or is there another easy to use database for beginners?

Please help with this, once I have created the information from Excel and saved as an html, how do I make the information more printable for the end user? You can go to www.obespa.state.ok.us and go to the database to see what it looks like. It is pretty large. I want people to be able to be able to print it on regular 8x10 or 11x14 paper.

Please help, I am responsible to make this work on the web. Thanks

Welcome.

From what I saw of the web site and the two databases listed, Excel would work fine.

What version of Excel are you using? Keep in mind that some formatting will not be saved when you save as html; that might affect your ability to provide absolute printing control through the web site.
    old, slow, and confused
    but at least I'm inconsistent!

Rich
    (retired Excel 2003 user, 3/28/2008)

How to ask a question on forums

Originally posted by shades
    Welcome.

From what I saw of the web site and the two databases listed, Excel would work fine.

What version of Excel are you using? Keep in mind that some formatting will not be saved when you save as html; that might affect your ability to provide absolute printing control through the web site.
    Excel from Office 2000. What can I do to make more printable?

Hi Jeanie,