Unanswered: Postgre SQL Newbie!

Hi,

I'm totally new to this and wanted to start learning about this ORDBMS. Can someone pls guide me to which version to install and how to fully utilize it to the max?
    I went to the website and there are so many files, i just don't know which one should i download...pls help!

Thank you very much!
    Last edited by jacky_cheecheo; 01-21-04 at 06:47.
    Warm Regards,
    Jacky

Re: Postgre SQL Newbie!

If your using NT, just download MySQL. If you are using Linux, you should already have postgreSQL.
    Originally posted by jacky_cheecheo
    Hi,

I'm totally new to this and wanted to start learning about this ORDBMS. Can someone pls guide me to which version to install and how to fully utilize it to the max?
    I went to the website and there are so many files, i just don't know which one should i download...pls help!

Thank you very much!

If you're using NT, take a look at this link:

http://techdocs.postgresql.org/guides/Windows

MySQL is easy to install on NT, but doesn't have some features that PostgreSQL has. Stored procedures and sub selects are two things that persuaded me to switch from MySQL to PostgreSQL.

Stored procedures are a huge plus if you need to use them. Server-side pl/sql manipulaion is much more efficient (if you need it). If you do, then PostgreSQL is better. If so, you should really look into setting up a Linux database server. It's more complicated but there is no quick and easy Windows solution without paying a heavy price.

Originally posted by stacey_richards
    If you're using NT, take a look at this link:

http://techdocs.postgresql.org/guides/Windows

MySQL is easy to install on NT, but doesn't have some features that PostgreSQL has. Stored procedures and sub selects are two things that persuaded me to switch from MySQL to PostgreSQL.