Question Unanswered: DoCmd.Openreport

Hi,

I'm an experienced SW developer, but new to Access and Visual Basic. I have a table called "tblMembers" which lists the members of an organization. I want to produce a report that shows a subset of the members based on user-defined criteria. My approach was to create a report based on the table, and then call DoCmd.Openreport in a VB procedure, passing it the search criteria. The problem is that I can't find any documentation explaining the details about the parameters I have to pass, either online or in the manual. For example, the online help tells me that there's a filtername parameter, but it offers no explanation of how to create the filter or name it. Also, there's a wherecondition parameter, but no info on its syntax. Would someone please be kind enough to tell me what kind of values I have to put in these parameters in order to, for example, show all members where lastname = Smith. Also, could you please point me toward a documentation source that gives detailed descriptions of all the built-in functions, including detailed parameter info. I'm running Access 2000.

Thanks,
    Marty

Re: DoCmd.Openreport

Hi Marty!

I know what you mean.... It's not easy to find what you are looking for... lol...

I didn't learn a thing about Access at school... and VBA is only a subset of VB and is soooo different that it took quite a lot of reading for me to learn... I knew DB2 SQL and VB (among many other programming languages) but it still took a while before I was going with this stuff...

Anyway... I'll do my best to explain...

The DoCmd object has many methods we can use... one of which is OpenReport...

The syntax is...
    DoCmd.OpenReport reportname[, view][, filtername][, wherecondition]
    (any argument in square brackets is optional...)

OpenReport offers you two different ways of filtering the records of the report...