Unanswered: Use of Macros - what do people think?

Hi

I'm slap bang in the middle of putting together what's turning out to be a pretty big database with in or around 48 forms/subforms, 34 tables/temp tables, and 84 queries of all types.
    Thing is I've little or no VB coding experience, so everything's hanging together mostly on Macros, and maybe only 20% based on code I've written (all be it poorly).
    Last count there were almost 200 macros - and there'll be more to come once I start producing reports (up to 20 needed).

Does this use of macros mean the DB is fundamentally flawed? Do they slow down performance? Does it make the DB look amateurish?
    Looking back now, I'm starting to think I should have spent more time learning basic VB before starting on this...

What do people think about use of Macros as opposed to code in Access?

D

Re: Use of Macros - what do people think?

Good Morning Dave...

I wouldn't say your database was flawed by having macros... I would have suggested you creat Macro Groups rather than 200 individual ones... but that's a personal choice... for organization purposes...

Here's a link that explains the differences between Macros and VBA coding MUCH better than I could... It's old, but the information still applies... http://www.microsoft.com/AccessDev/A...Web.htm#SHOULD

Personally I think it's just a question of how complicated of a process the database application is doing... I have many databases that have Macros and Macro Groups in them... but I can't say that I've used them in any of my recent projects...

Another option for the beginner.... once your forms are built, go back into the design view of the form. On the menu bar, choose Tools, Macro, Convert Macros to Visual Basic

Once you've completed this, you can then delete your macros...

Not only do you clean up your database, you can then see how you perform those tasks in VB... thus learning code as you go...