Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    2

    Question Unanswered: AS400 DB2 Database Configuration

    Hello Everyone,

    We are currently running DB2 on an AS400 V5R2. Recently, when using a web application (J2EE) we have been experiencing significant slowdowns. The consultants developing the system have asked where to find certain configs related to locks...the email is copied below...

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks for the information earlier. I was hoping to find comparable
    settings for some lock timeouts that are available in UDB. Some of the
    settings that I would like to find (or their equivalents) are: Max
    storage for lock list (4KB) (LOCKLIST), Interval for checking deadlock
    (ms) (DLCHKTIME), Percent. of lock lists per appl. (%) (MAXLOCKS), Lock
    timeout (sec)(LOCKTIMEOUT).

    Do you know where we could make these type of settings changes for
    iSeries DB2?

    We have been able to update other isolation settings for some specific
    transactions that we believe will address the root cause of these
    issues, however, we don't want the record lock timeout to be so long
    that it would hold up a user for over 2 minutes.

    Let me know what you can find out. Thanks,

    Pat
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I don't have any idea where these settings are located on an AS400 (iSeries) or if they even exist. Can anyone help to point me in the right direction? Thanks in Advance.

    -Dave

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    26

    Re: AS400 DB2 Database Configuration

    Once i also looking for the same thing. In as400 and other main frames most of the parameters are handled by the system itself. Example there will not any settings for ur locklist.

    May be you could find the deadlock related parameters...the best source is contach IBM



    Originally posted by DKindberg
    Hello Everyone,

    We are currently running DB2 on an AS400 V5R2. Recently, when using a web application (J2EE) we have been experiencing significant slowdowns. The consultants developing the system have asked where to find certain configs related to locks...the email is copied below...

    ------------------------------------------------------------

    Thanks for the information earlier. I was hoping to find comparable
    settings for some lock timeouts that are available in UDB. Some of the
    settings that I would like to find (or their equivalents) are: Max
    storage for lock list (4KB) (LOCKLIST), Interval for checking deadlock
    (ms) (DLCHKTIME), Percent. of lock lists per appl. (%) (MAXLOCKS), Lock
    timeout (sec)(LOCKTIMEOUT).

    Do you know where we could make these type of settings changes for
    iSeries DB2?

    We have been able to update other isolation settings for some specific
    transactions that we believe will address the root cause of these
    issues, however, we don't want the record lock timeout to be so long
    that it would hold up a user for over 2 minutes.

    Let me know what you can find out. Thanks,

    Pat
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I don't have any idea where these settings are located on an AS400 (iSeries) or if they even exist. Can anyone help to point me in the right direction? Thanks in Advance.

    -Dave
    MS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Hi,

    I'm looking for the same things too (db2 health check report). I require to capture the all the configuration and status in the current DB2 v8.1 iSeries v5r3 environment. (eg: db configuration, allocated/used size of db/tables, memory pool & etc).

    iSeries Navigator doesn't help a lot. (maybe i'm not familiar)

    Trying google around, but cant get it. Any guidance since we are doing the same things. Please help..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks przytula_guy,

    Wanted to understand deeply, DB2 in iSeries can still performance the normal LUW db2 configuration as well? or purely depends on iSeries configuration?

    eg: Database Configuration Setup.

    I'm very new is DB2, and 1st in DB2 iSeries. Hope you can share more. Sorry if i'm keep asking stupid question..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    i can not help you in detail because db2 i/series is not my favorite
    yes, db2 is part of o/s in i-series
    I can not say if db cfg exists in db2/400
    if it is - check infocenter - all info must be available there...
    or do some reading in doc about db2/400 and fundamentals - see library...
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by przytula_guy View Post
    i can not help you in detail because db2 i/series is not my favorite
    yes, db2 is part of o/s in i-series
    I can not say if db cfg exists in db2/400
    if it is - check infocenter - all info must be available there...
    or do some reading in doc about db2/400 and fundamentals - see library...

    Thanks przytula_guy, DB2 in iSeries really no that fun but i have to it.. no choice.. Have to read more and more.. Appreciate your advice.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    46
    there is no db cfg as such for iseries/db2, but there is an environment file QAQQINI, that can be used to control query processing either at global level or by profile(userid)...
    here is the list of parameters in QAQQINI ,

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...%2Fqryoptf.htm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by amitrai4 View Post
    there is no db cfg as such for iseries/db2, but there is an environment file QAQQINI, that can be used to control query processing either at global level or by profile(userid)...
    here is the list of parameters in QAQQINI ,

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...%2Fqryoptf.htm
    Thanks amitrai4,

    Was looking into this area (QAQQINI), wondering is there any different on iSeries v5r3.
    1) I can't see the IBM i in the Application Administration (iSeries Navigator). Is it due to authorization access?

    2) How do i grant my ID to QIBM_DB_SQLADM & QIBM_DB_SYSMON in iSeries v5r3? Or in v5r3 is in different way. Try looking in the v5r3 documents, but cant find any solution.

    https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B5V...UwYTgzZWI2M2M0

    https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B5V...MxMGQ0YmUyOTYx
    Last edited by alexlex_lex; 12-19-11 at 02:01.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    46
    I think QIBM_DB_SQLADM & QIBM_DB_SYSMON authorities has been introduced in v7r1, something similar to secadm in UDB. These are not available in v5r3.

    Sysadmin can grant you access to modify QAQQINI file.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks amitrai4,
    Will try to configure with sysadm. basically i will create another user id to grant as sysadm to manage the QAQQINI. Understand that the SYSSEC don't have the rights to do that right?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    46
    sysadm is required.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks amitrai4..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •