Unanswered: help with forms and variables

ok guys I am a programmer but this is my first foray into php. I have a friend who already had a site written in php. The hosting company needed to move servers so thought was should be able to recreate the database and pow it would work. Not so, think it was written in an older version of php. That aside I managed to work through many variable problems but this one has got me stumped. I'm not sure why it was written this way and it seems the page calls itself. No matter I can never get the login to be acknowledged it just repaints the login screen as if it never tests for valid login, password information. I changed the form from a POST to a GET and I know the variables are being assigned correctly but it just never seems to get to the if's to prove it. Any help would be greatly appreciated as this is holding up the site.
    here is the code it is called admin.php and you'll notice that is the same name used in the form- thanks in advance for any help I'm losing hair over this one

<?

//Let's make a database connection, eh?
    $Host = 'localhost';
    $User = 'username';
    $Password = 'password';
    $DBName = 'database';

$Link = mysql_connect ($Host, $User, $Password);
    //connected
    function Verify($name, $password){
    if ($name=='admin' && $password=='wordpass'){
    setcookie("loggedin", "true");
    //include("header.php");
    global $loggedin;
    $loggedin="true";
    }
    }

Verify($name, $password);
    if ($loggedin=='true') {
    include("header.php");
    print("<H1>Administrative Pages</H1>");
    Pprint("here");
    ?>
    <!--Begin logged-in material-->
    <H2>Horses</H2>
    <TABLE BORDER=1 CELLSPACING=5>
    <?
    $Query = "SELECT * FROM horse;";
    $Result = mysql_db_query($DBName, $Query, $Link);
    while ($Row = mysql_fetch_array($Result)) {
    print("<TR>\n<TD>$Row[Name]</TD>\n<TD><DIV CLASS=\"caption\"><A HREF=\"edithorse.php?horse=$Row[HorseID]\">Edit Horse</A></DIV></TD>