Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1

    Unanswered: Export Paradox DB w/ Memo field to fixed length file

    I need to export a database that contains a memo field to a fixed length file. When exporting I do not get the memo field data. I am not familiar with Paradox 7 and everything I have tried has failed. Any assisstance would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    182
    You are only getting the first 256 [or whatever display setting in the table structure] of the memo field. To get more you may have to run a query which creates two or more Alphanumeric fields each containing the 240 character's from the memo field. The calculation would be Left(memofield,240) , substr(memofield,241, 480), substr(memofield,481, 720) and so on. prior to exporting.

    There may be another way to do it but I haven't found it yet. Especially, since there is no limit to the size of a memo field.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    12
    Where do you run the query in Paradox? I only know SQL Server.

    I am designing a new application for a company and they currently use Paradox. I am trying to export all the data to Excel, but the memo field won't work.

    Please let me know how to do this. Thanks!

    Brenda

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1
    I once had to bring memo fields into a fixed field column. I used the following objectpal script with the scan command using arrays. It should work without a hitch (as long as your longest memo isn't bigger than 256)

    Create new table (use borrow structure from old table) then modify the new table's memo field to be fixed length field.

    Use the following script (you will probably need to change the number of array elements or use dynarray). There are definately more elegent ways to do this. But I only had a 2 column table and this worked for me.

    method run(var eventInfo Event)
    var
    tab1,tab2 tcursor
    com Array[2] Anytype
    endvar

    tab1.open("table_with_memo.db")
    tab2.open("table_with_fixed_field.db")
    tab2.edit()

    scan tab1:
    com[1]=tab1.field1 ; change to suit your field names
    com[2]=tab1.field2 ; " "
    com[3]= ... and on

    tab2.insertrecord()
    tab2.copyfromarray(com)
    endscan
    tab2.endedit()
    msginfo("Status","Done")
    endMethod

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    182

    Thanks

    We actually figured this one out. Her memo fields were greater than 256 character so your method would not work. Let me know if you need our solution as I can forward you to the thread.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    1

    Export memo fields

    If you still have the code for this, I would welcome it. I'm struggling with the a similar problem.

    Our address info is maintained in two Paradox tables (People and Companys). I'd like to export / import the data to Corel Address Book, and keep the data updated regularly, for access by WordPerfect templates. The first problem I ran into was exporting memo fields from Paradox.

    Also, our paradox tables contain multi-line memo fields for addresses. Corel's Address Book also appears to have multi-line fields in it's addresses. If I can get past the first problem, my next problem will be getting the carriage returns into the Address Book fields.

    I'm at the entry level on the learning curve. There must be some way to integrate Paradox with the Corel Address book? (currently have Pdox11, WPX3)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •