Thread: Isolation Level

Question Unanswered: Isolation Level

First off: I am relatively new to DB2, having worked on Oracle for 10 years.

Second: I have looked around the forums, etc for an answer!

Quite simply, how can you check what the current ISOLATION LEVEL is on your database?

I know you can change it using AUTOCONFIG, but how can you check what it is before you change it?

From what I have read, this seems to be somewhat of an enigma.

I am using DB2 UDB 8.1 EEE on NT.

Cheers,

Brian.

Brian-dot-Murray-at-FINEOS-dot-com

Nope

Hi Brian

Unfortunately there is no way by which you can see the isolation level set at the database level.

There has been many a discussion on the mentioned topic and you can refer those threads for a better clarity.

Cheers

Nitin
    HTH

Nitin

Ask the experienced rather than the learned

What about db2set DB2_RR_TO_RS=YES ? Does it not set Isolation level to RS at Instance level? There are so many places, you can override defaults e.g at general SQL level or individual SQL level. If you are using an application package, package should recommend the settings.
    mota

Here is some information that I previously posted about isolation level. You might be able to see the default isolation level, but that is no guarantee that a particular isolation level was used for a given SQL statement:

With Static SQL (programs with embedded SQL that get pre-compiled, compiled and the bound), the isolation level is an option on the pre-compile and bind commands.

For Dynamic SQL, there is a default isolation level set for the database by the Create Database command. It can be changed with the AUTOCONFIGURE command (either during or after database creation). The default is RR unless it has been changed. Not sure how to see what it is (maybe a registry value). This affects ODBC and CLI interfaces to DB2.