Unanswered: Purchase Order Questions

Hello,

I am a purchasing agent at a homebuilding company. I am creating a new purchasing system using Excel so over the next couple weeks you may see a bunch of questions from me. In all cases I have already searched the forum and have not found an answer.

A little background: My company builds 5 different models. During the homebuilding process, I will be issuing approx 30 Purchase Orders to 30 different vendors for each house. I have set up 5 workbooks (for each of the designs) with 30 different worksheets in each workbook containing the purchase order information for each vendor.

I would like to use these 5 workbooks as templates so that whenever we sell a model I just have to “save as” the corresponding template to a new filename and issue the POs.

The question: I would like to eliminate the re-entry of customer data (i.e. Lot #, Address, Customer Name etc..) on each PO. Is there a way to create a master sheet or something in each of the workbooks containing this information that would automatically copy to the same cells in each of the other 30 sheets in the workbook? Ideally, once I saved the template to the new file, I would only have to change the customer data once and that’s it.

Thanks in advance for your help. This forum is one of the best I’ve seen.

Aladdin Nassar
    Meadowbrook Homes, Inc.

Sounds to me like this is something better of in a DB (access) than in a spreadsheet, geezz.....30 worksheets... I say GO DB...

Regards

Hi Aladdin

Probably the easiest way to go about this is have your master sheet with the information on it and on each worksheet cell where you want information just type

=

then click on your mastersheet then on the cell which holds the information which you want to populate the cell with.

if you create a blank template with all these links in Excel will automatically populate the cells required when information is then input into the system.