Unanswered: VB & Access basics

I recently learned I needed to learn to use MS access 2002. I have been programming databases in php (mysql mostly) for many years.

I have a good knowledge of SQL, but no Idea how to use it in Access.

I can get a form created and can figure out how to program it (using events and such). What I can't do is figure out how to connect to and query the database. I'm trying to figure out how I interact with the tables through the Access VBA interface.

How do I form a connection to the database? How do I send a query and how is the data returned (in some sort of object I would guess)? How can I insert data into a table?

Like I said, I know SQL and databases, but I have no idea how to get at it in Access.

If there is a good online tutorial for Access 2002 I would appreciate it, I would buy a book but I'm poor

Thanks
    TG

Places to start

I have only a moment to reply so I can't give you examples or anything at the moment.

In Access help, lookup Recordset Objects.

You'll have to declare a Database Object and at the very least, a Recordset Object. Then you can query the database. The results are returned in the recordset that you have initialized. There are also QueryDef objects. I'm rusty on my Access and I never used them much. As far as I recall, I used them to run existing queries that I created in Access or to create new ones. That's as opposed to having my code execute a SQL statement on the fly and then have it go away.

Here's a general picture, YMMV.

Dim db As Database
    Dim rs As Recordset

Set db = CurrentDB
    Set rs = db.OpenRecordset(yada,yada,)

With rs.
    do stuff with your data in here
    .Close
    End With

I often declare a string (strSQL) for my SQL statement and then use it in my OpenRecordset to do whatever it is that I want. The string variable goes with other stuff you may want to specify in the "yada, yada" section.