Unanswered: Maximum Number of Fields in a Table?

I am a newbie to Design-so please no flaming.

I am currently designing a db on Access 2002 for work-I currently have around 50 fields in one particular table-is this ok?-or should i try and seperate?

I am also trying to place a subform on a particular tab page(there are six on this particular form) but i dont want it to be visible on any other page other than 6?-At the moment it is visible on all the tab pages-which isnt what i want.

I have various other questions if anyone is willing to get involved in an email consultation?

Many Thanks.

Re: Maximum Number of Fields in a Table?

Oliver,

255 is the max number of fields.

In regards to the subform... if you select the tab page prior to dropping the sub form, that should solve your problem.

Best,

CP

Re: Maximum Number of Fields in a Table?

Originally posted by cpgospi
    Oliver,

255 is the max number of fields.

In regards to the subform... if you select the tab page prior to dropping the sub form, that should solve your problem.

Best,

CP
    Many Thanks

255 may be the maximum but most applications we do wouldn't call for that many fields.

Fifty may also be fine. But my knee-jerk reaction is that when your fields get that high, a good look at your table design is warranted to be certain that your data is normalized.

Don't separate just for the sake of separating a table into several smaller tables. It's a rookie mistake. Look at your table and ask your self what kinds of information are you collection. Is it customer info or sales info (employee data or project data), etc. If both are in the table, you may need to redesign it.