Angry Unanswered: sort help (1 table)

I'm using SQL/Oracle. I have the required report written, but the sort is driving me crazy. I'm fairly new to SQL, I'm sure this is painfully obvious, so my apologies in advance. I need to sort dept name alpha within next higher dept name alpha, etc.. for 15 levels... Basically, there's a 75-char numeric 'levelkey' field (comprised of 15 5-digit level code fields) associated with the field 'deptname'. Any directional influence appreciated!! Thanks.

Re: sort help (1 table)

Originally posted by raylove
    I'm using SQL/Oracle. I have the required report written, but the sort is driving me crazy. I'm fairly new to SQL, I'm sure this is painfully obvious, so my apologies in advance. I need to sort dept name alpha within next higher dept name alpha, etc.. for 15 levels... Basically, there's a 75-char numeric 'levelkey' field (comprised of 15 5-digit level code fields) associated with the field 'deptname'. Any directional influence appreciated!! Thanks.

Im having a little trouble trying to visualize this - can you draw out a quick example of the levels? Or exactly what you think the output should be? Then we can work backwards and figure out how to sort it.

Smile

Okay. I'm basically assimilating access info for users in a purchasing-card system at a college. An example of an end result I'd need: all user-ids (alpha) that are in: IT Group, which is in: Neurology Administration: which is in: Dept of Neurology, which is in: School of Medicine, which is in: Executive VP for Health Affairs, which is in: XXX University. My problem is how to show all those department names - showing users in 'IT Group' is easy, but meaningless, since there are 'IT Groups' in most departments. Sorting alpha within alpha comes in when I'd like to run this report for all departments within the entire university.
    Each dept. 'level code' is as:
    'XXX University" = 00001 00000 00000..etc
    "Exec VP/Health Affairs" = 00001 00035 00000..etc