Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    106

    Unanswered: Calculations PLEASE HELP

    I have written an update query to calculate some fines, but when i run the query a message box comes up asking for the "days late"

    i have attatched a screenshot of the design veiw of the query.

    i dont know why its asking for the days late

    PLEASE HELP

    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails b.bmp  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    403
    It is asking you for days late, as in the first place the query has not completed calculating days late before it needs the answer to run the next column.

    You could split the query and this will solve the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,418
    Provided Answers: 7

    Or

    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    106
    how do i split it up?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    106
    i tried the other thing but i have no idea about how to used code

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    403
    You would split the two calculations into the two queries.

    Query One would be as you have it for calculating Days Late.

    Query Two would include Query One as a source and Days Late as a field and include your current formula.

    HTH

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    106
    how do i make it so that when i press the command button, both queries run

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    403
    Calls will all be made to Query two. Query one is forced by Query Two.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    106
    you have lost me now

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    403
    Any time you want to reference the query just reference query two. Query one will run everytime query two is called. Try it to see what I mean.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,418
    Provided Answers: 7
    1st Query Work out the 'days late'

    2nd Query update,Make Table bla bla




    create a the 1st query 1st ( get it working)

    then Just Build the next Query and use Query 1 as the base query
    hope this help

    See clear as mud


    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •