Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Export a table in delimited format

I would like to send a table out on a weekly basis in delimited format. Is there anyway to do this automatically (macro) without having to use the export wizard? The wizard is great but I do not want to have to manually respond each time I want to send it out. I should be able to set it up once and then send it with a macro.

Thanks,

could you not use an export spec. ?

Export Spec?

I am a beginner and I guess I do not know hwat an export spec. is and how to use. I have used macros heavily to automate my database. Can you give me more information? Would appreciate it.

Thanks,
    B&R

what version of access are you using?

access 03 you can select to transfer a text file as delimited
    Last edited by michelin man; 02-08-04 at 23:14.

Provided Answers: 1
    Mak a new Form, put a Button on it, in the properties of that button, under the events Tab, on Click put the next code

DoCmd.TransferText acExportDelim, ,"yourTableName", "c:\Temp\anyFileName.txt"

Originally posted by michelin man
    what version of access are you using?

access 03 you can select to transfer a text file as delimited
    I am using Access 2002.

Thanks,

Re: Export Spec?

Originally posted by B&R
    I am a beginner and I guess I do not know hwat an export spec. is and how to use. I have used macros heavily to automate my database. Can you give me more information? Would appreciate it.

Thanks,
    B&R
    You know how to use the Export Text Wizard... Well all you have to do is save the Export Spec while you are doing the export... Then in a macro you can refer to that particular spec...

Here.... I just gave someone instructions on how to do this earlier today...

http://www.dbforums.com/t982259.html

Check it out...

HTH

Originally posted by Trudi