Exclamation Unanswered: HELP - urgent situation.. can't instantiate Excel.Application on server?

Hey all

I've got a DTS package with a script that does this:

Set xlApp = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

This fails though. Do I have to install MS Office on the machine the SQL Server is on? Or can I simply copy a few DLLs over and register them??

Thanks! I gotta get this solved within 5 hrs
    Last edited by MDesigner; 02-10-04 at 07:17.

Re: HELP - urgent situation.. can't instantiate Excel.Application on server?

I am by no means an expert on this particular situation, but I would think that your 'best' (meaning most likely to work the first time) solution would be to install MS Office (just the Excel portion of it) on the server.

Regards,

hmscott

Our in-house IT guy won't install Excel/Office on the server that our SQL Server is on.. something about opening up for potential problems and/or security issues.

It seems to me that if you CreateObject("Excel.Application"), that there's some kind of ActiveX .dll that could be registered on the server to allow the creation of these Excel COM objects. Anyone know which files they are??

Re: HELP - urgent situation.. can't instantiate Excel.Application on server?

Where is the Package called from?

If client side app I would suggest installing Excel would work,

If a VB app adding the Excel distributables in the compile should work.

Create a reference to the Excel Object in your VB app.

mine is at
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2000\Office\EXCEL9.OLB

When installed the required registry entries should follow.

Good Luck

It's an ActiveX script within a DTS package on the server. I'd LIKE to have Office installed, but IT won't allow it.

Is there some way I could place the EXCEL9.OLB file on the server, and reference it somehow in my VBScript??

All DTS Packages are run on the client unless scheduled by SQL Server regardless of where the code resides.