Unanswered: SELECT only the newest, but based on revised letters

Ok here's a big one.

First I'm a big NEWBIE, so it'd be great if you can provide a little explanation as to how this should be done...

Here's what I want to do, but have no idea how to approach it.

I have a table with Quotes (table Quote) in them (for a Sale's Team). Each has a quote number (qtQN) and this number is sequencial but sometimes revised where a letter is added at the end. Like so:

qtQN__________Date
    ---------------------------
    111q0001--------02/01/04
    111q0002--------02/02/04
    111q0002A------02/03/04
    111q0002B -----02/04/04
    222q0005--------01/15/04
    etc... ------------- etc...

The first 3 digit are company codes and pretty unimportant to this problem. As you can see, 111q0002 has three versions. A, B, and no letter. The most up to date is B. So in this list I want to list only the most up to date quotes. So the resulting list would be:

111q0001
    111q0002B
    222q0005

Get it? Good, cuz I have no idea how to query that... any help at all is appreciated!

I'm using MS SQL Server 2k and scripting with ASP 3.0

Provided Answers: 1
    Well, I won't go into what poor practice this is, storing multiple types of information in a single field, 'cause you probably have no control over it, so....

select max(qtQN) as Maxqtqn from YourTable group by left(qtQN, 8)

...should give you the list you want.
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Talking

Well that worked! Thanks!!!

But I'm interested in knowing more by what you meant here:

Originally posted by blindman
    Well, I won't go into what poor practice this is, storing multiple types of information in a single field,