Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PAKISTAN
    Posts
    106

    Unanswered: Altering a Published Table

    Hi! I've added a column to a published table in the Publisher using SP_REPLADDCOLUMN. After doing this the replication triggers for that table(i.e. del_%,upd_%,ins_%) are doubled both at the Publisher and at the Subscriber. If i update anyone of the column in the table at the Subscriber; i get the following error:

    Server: Msg 208, Level 16, State 1, Procedure upd_3E6DE124B82D42A5AEB169557C0D757C, Line 60
    Invalid object name 'ctsv_3E6DE124B82D42A5AEB169557C0D757C'.

    Any ideas, what has gone wrong????

    I have the following SQL setup.
    Publisher: Enterprise Edition, SP3.
    Subscriber: Standard-Edition, SP3.
    The error is at the Subscriber.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    311

    Re: Altering a Published Table

    Did you set both @force_invalidate_snapshot and @force_reinit_subscription to 1. My guess is not. You have to reinitialize all subscriptions now to resolve the problem.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PAKISTAN
    Posts
    106

    Re: Altering a Published Table

    Originally posted by joejcheng
    Did you set both @force_invalidate_snapshot and @force_reinit_subscription to 1. My guess is not. You have to reinitialize all subscriptions now to resolve the problem.
    No i didn't set these variables to 1, for i can't afford a full SNAPSHOT over the internet. The PUBLISHER is of 3 GB in size. What steps i can take so that it doesn't happen again.!!!???
    I've temporarily fixed the problem by removing the newly created replication trigger manually at both the PUBLISHER and SUBSCRIBER.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    earth
    Posts
    96

    Re: Altering a Published Table

    When you add a columns that is not PK, and you dont wish to reinitiliase during operation hours, you can choose this way, try to create a column by using Publisher properties, go to Filter columns in Publisher properties, then add the column using the Add column button, and then dont tick on that column you just added. Now you didnt ask merge agent to replicate that column for you. What you doing is to add a column for your user to make use of that column in the publisher database server. Wait till you have time to replicate the whole snapshot off the operation hours. Good Luck !

    Originally posted by TALAT
    No i didn't set these variables to 1, for i can't afford a full SNAPSHOT over the internet. The PUBLISHER is of 3 GB in size. What steps i can take so that it doesn't happen again.!!!???
    I've temporarily fixed the problem by removing the newly created replication trigger manually at both the PUBLISHER and SUBSCRIBER.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PAKISTAN
    Posts
    106
    Thanx for your help eshl. I use to apply the SNAPSHOT only when there's a change in the PK or an ID seed column of a published table. The publication-database has 24 hours production and the subscribers have online websites running on them. I am eagerly lookin for a way to completely bypass the SNAPSHOT.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •