Interesting Problem

Hello DB Guru's,

I'm having more troubles with the design of the table layout for my database. The problem I have is that my database needs to store floating point data values for our fuel cells but the number of those data points may change. However, the frequency of those changes is more frequent for the first couple of months during commissioning and then its frequency is almost nill when it runs steady state. This makes it more challenging for table layouts and so far we figure we have two options. And just as a disclaimer, I'm just a C programmer with very little db experience.

+-------+-------+--------+--------+-------------
    | Time | Data1 | Data2 | Data3 | Grows Horz
    +-------+-------+--------+--------+-------------
    Feb 1 13.14 21.14 42.19

OR

+-------+-------+--------+
    | Time | Data | Value |
    +-------+-------+--------+
    Feb 1 Data1 12.12
    Feb 1 Data2 23.41

We typically log 100 to 150 data values per minute per fuel cell. The problem with the first solution is that when the number of data values are changing then you are altering the table and having holes in the data. However, that design is much better for when the number of data values doesn't change which is what happens after commissioning.

The second solution handles both cases but your inserting 100 to 150 records per minute per fuel cell. And there seems to be overlap of data. Ie. The timestamp will be the same for 100 to 150 values. And do we need to be concerned with overhead between 1 INSERT statement versus 100 to 150 per minute per fuel cell?

Either solution would only need to handle data coming from 1 - 20 fuel cells (approx). We would also likely have 1 table per fuel cell, but it would be necessary for the first solution.

The other problem is that for 90% of the time the number of data values won't change like after the commissioning so it seems to make more sense use the first solution which will work well for most of the time.