Question Unanswered: need to access the same table from two workstations

I work as an office manager.

I am trying to give two people on our network access to the same table simultaniously. I thought I had it yesterday I opened the table on both computers and tested it by imputting a record on one computer and then verifying that it was there on the other. That worked

today when I came in the newly input information was not on the second computer, but my test record was.

Any ideas?

1st option.
    if the session is open on a form the form needs to get updated, but to verify the data, you need to check in the actual table if the data is there or not.

2nd option.
    have one main database on a shared network drive and then split the datbase so that any number of people can access that tables.

3rd option.
    have a vb code invoke a refresh to view the updated information on the form.

hope this helps.
    Believe Everybody Trust Nobody

If I split the table will all of the info entered at either computer merge?

Cool

yes it will as far as you make sure that the user version or the desktop version of the tables only linked table to the source. The main tables will only be on the network drive database. This way the exclusive opening (multi user access) option also gets taken care of.

Thanks that is what I wanted to hear!

Thumbs up

you are welcome

ooo, I am trying to do the same thing.

So how *exactly* does one achieve option 2?

Cool

well the way to achieve that is once you have your database setup done and all the forms reports and switchboards are finished you are at the point to start distributing the access database to multiple users. Keep in mind that once you split all the copies of the databases that you make will be connected to the centeral database . follow the steps