Thread: informix backup

Unhappy Unanswered: informix backup

Hi all

I am new to Informix backups. we have Informix and MSSQL running in our organization. and for a particular reason I was asked to take a backup of the table in informix to flat file and load/restore it in a different server ( MSSQL) for the first time, later-on I should take an Incremental backup of the informix( what ever changes done on that day) table to a flat file and load into the MSSQL table daily. Could anybody suggest me like how do I start as I don't have any idea and write me if you know the small bit of the code also.

My informix is running on SUN UNIX.
    MSSQL is running on WINDOWS 2000

Thanks in advance
    sri

Re: informix backup

Originally posted by srbreddy
    Hi all

I am new to Informix backups. we have Informix and MSSQL running in our organization. and for a particular reason I was asked to take a backup of the table in informix to flat file and load/restore it in a different server ( MSSQL) for the first time, later-on I should take an Incremental backup of the informix( what ever changes done on that day) table to a flat file and load into the MSSQL table daily. Could anybody suggest me like how do I start as I don't have any idea and write me if you know the small bit of the code also.

My informix is running on SUN UNIX.
    MSSQL is running on WINDOWS 2000

Thanks in advance
    sri

Hi
    Any Idea/solution for this, may be who knows about the incremental backups

Cheers.

Hello srbreddy,

I believe every default Informix installation comes with ON-BAR.

I'm not an expert on it but you should be able use it.

Here's a link to it:

Sorry not much help since i'm learning also ....

http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data.../6522-pdf.html