I am extremely new to database design, so please excuse my ignorance if I ask things that I should know.

I work in visual effects in the film business. We track shots in a show using a database (filemaker pro, at the moment). The database I put together in FM5 has served us well for a number of years, but it's time for us to grow up and take the system to the next level. I am now searching for the next step, and wonder if mySQL is the right platform to migrate to.

Essentially, our database needs fairly simple: tracking a set of about 100 different field types, generating sorts, queries and reports, and exporting data to our vendors. We need to access the information from a variety of forms. We need the database to work locally on a laptop, on set, and then sync to the server upon connection to the internet. I'd like to have some palm/tablet support for gathering information in the field and then synchronizing the information back to the server.

I think I would like the local implementations of the database to be an executable program, which has full access to data, but then syncs when it has a live connection to the server. I need to be able to program a custom front end to the program, and need the underlying database program to be completely transparent -- I want my program to look like I want it to, not like a tarted up database (ie: Filemaker always looks like Filemaker, and it's not good enough for the people who will be using the database).

I'd like the system to be extendable -- ie: once I've developed the database and app for our department, I'd like to be able to port the system to other departments in the film industry, with a central server to compile all information from each department's databases.

I want to take advantage of system software on each user's computer -- at the moment, we are 95% Mac, so I want to be able to tie into quicktime, mail programs, system browsers, address books, photoshop, etc, already installed on each users system.