Unanswered: using DBMS_OBFUSCATION_TOOLKIT.DESENCRYPT

Hello,
    I am very very new to Stored Procedures and need to encrypt and dencrypt a Password using DBMS_OBFUSCATION_TOOLKIT.DESENCRYPT.

I keep getting an ORA Error 28232: invalid input length for obfuscation when run and can't figure out why?

Here is my snippet...

(Package)
    v_key varchar2(8) := '12345678' ;
    v_decrypted_string varchar2(32);

(Package body)
    v_data varchar2(32);
    v_Key_check_flag number;
    v_encrypted_string varchar2(32);

v_key_check_flag := mod(length(v_key),8);

if v_key_check_flag != 0 then
    Raise_application_error(-20199,'KeyBad...');
    end if;

DBMS_OBFUSCATION_TOOLKIT.DESDECRYPT
    (input_string => cur_users_rec.password,
    key_string => v_key,
    decrypted_string => v_decrypted_string);

Any help would be appricated !!
    -BT

Re: using DBMS_OBFUSCATION_TOOLKIT.DESENCRYPT

Hello

Which one is your db server?

The key that you include in the call to the package depends the database server.

Forgive me for not understanding the question, but I'm not sure what you mean ?!

Actually, I "played" some more and I think am a step farther...

The Test User accounts were setup with Passwords of "FAKEPW". Once they were changed to a 8 character password "12345678" the Update works, but ignores the verification on the password matchup. (before the update can occur, the typed in "old Password" must match the Stored PW (which is decrypted)).

The change occurs everytime reguardless of the verification (I did a raised error and it verifies that the PW's are different too).

When the DB/Stored PW is decrypted, it is in a 9 number format, which is different then what was typed in ?! Why?!

Have you seen the error in ORA Errors Document?

It explain something about your problem.

I had a similar problems a month ago.

The problems appeared when we wanted to migrate a application from a AIX Server to SUN Server.