Unhappy Unanswered: Subforms and Control Boxes

I am relatively new to access and am trying to create a database to suite my customer's needs... but I'm having some trouble.

I would like to use a subform within the regular form. I want to create a subform so the user can enter more than one value in the field for each entry. I.E. - Each entry is information about a specific test. Each field in the entry specific information about the test (where, when, who, what was tested). I want the subform to allow multiple instruments to be used for each test (entry into the database).

The user wants to be able to select from a list or type in a new instrument for each instrument used. There can be as many as 20 instruments used in a single test (entry into the database).

I was told a control box will allow the user to chose from a list or enter their own value. Will the control box then remember what was entered in the next time they want to use that entry? (the goal is to make it fast - so the user doesn't have to type in the instrument used every time).

I hope I am making sense....

To sum it up:
    I want to have a subform with a control box that will allow the user to enter multiple entries into the subform. I want the user to be able to enter information by chosing from a list or by typing in their data.

1. Is this possible?
    2. How can I do this?

(I've tried to do this... but I must be doing something wrong) (I'm not very familiar with using SQL... so I'm going to hope I don't have to... but I'll learn if it must be done with SQL)

Thank you for any help you can give me!

Vexed

Re: Subforms and Control Boxes

I don't think you're going to be able to use simple text list for the source of your combo box.

You'll need to put the instrument choices in a table and set the combo box data source to the table or a query based on it.