Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Arrow Unanswered: How to connect to SQL Server 2K without the machine name ?

    With SQL Server 7, I could connect to a "local" server

    driver={SQL Server};server={Local};uid=sa;pwd=password;

    with SQL Server 2K it seems to need the computer name

    driver={SQL Server};server=MachineName\InstanceName;uid=sa;pwd =password;


    How can I replace "MachineName\InstanceName" by "{Local}"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cape Town , South Africa
    Posts
    30

    Re: How to connect to SQL Server 2K without the machine name ?

    Originally posted by Karolyn
    With SQL Server 7, I could connect to a "local" server

    driver={SQL Server};server={Local};uid=sa;pwd=password;

    with SQL Server 2K it seems to need the computer name

    driver={SQL Server};server=MachineName\InstanceName;uid=sa;pwd =password;


    How can I replace "MachineName\InstanceName" by "{Local}"

    Is the machine you connecting to your local machine?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Re: How to connect to SQL Server 2K without the machine name ?

    yeap !

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    The Dark Planet
    Posts
    1,401
    if its the default instance of sql server 2000

    Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Persist Security Info=False;Connect Timeout=0;User ID=user;Initial Catalog=dbname;Data Source=local;PASSWORD=password;

    else

    Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Persist Security Info=False;Connect Timeout=0;User ID=user;Initial Catalog=dbname;Data Source=local\instancename;PASSWORD=password;
    Get yourself a copy of the The Holy Book

    order has no physical Brett in The meaning of a Kaiser . -database data

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cape Town , South Africa
    Posts
    30

    Re: How to connect to SQL Server 2K without the machine name ?

    Originally posted by Karolyn
    yeap !
    did you try editing your sql server properties?? are you using the right password? cause when you connect to your local machine you normally use use windows and not sql and windows to connect ...try connecting with windows authentication...hope this helps..it should work ..that is what i did...providing other users dont connect to your local machine

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    Data Source=local\mercure

    The connection does'nt find the server

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cape Town , South Africa
    Posts
    30
    Originally posted by Karolyn
    Data Source=local\mercure

    The connection does'nt find the server

    Edit your sql server properties

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    where do I get them edited ?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    1
    ProductName NULL Microsoft SQL Server 2
    ProductVersion 524288 8.00.760 3
    Language 1036 Français (France) 4
    Platform NULL NT INTEL X86 5
    Comments NULL NT INTEL X86 6
    CompanyName NULL Microsoft Corporation 7
    FileDescription NULL SQL Server Windows NT 8
    FileVersion NULL 2000.080.0760.00 9
    InternalName NULL SQLSERVR 10
    LegalCopyright NULL © 1988-2003 Microsoft Corp. All rights reserved. 11
    LegalTrademarks NULL Microsoft® is a registered trademark of Microsoft Corporation. Windows(TM) is a trademark of Microsoft Corporation 12
    OriginalFilename NULL SQLSERVR.EXE 13
    PrivateBuild NULL NULL 14
    SpecialBuild 49807360 NULL 15
    WindowsVersion 170393861 5.1 (2600) 16
    ProcessorCount 1 1 17
    ProcessorActiveMask 1 00000001 18
    ProcessorType 586 PROCESSOR_INTEL_PENTIUM 19
    PhysicalMemory 503 503 (527941632) 20
    Product ID NULL NULL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Cape Town , South Africa
    Posts
    30
    Originally posted by Karolyn
    where do I get them edited ?

    right click on (local)windows nt then go to edit sql server properties and change it there

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •