Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4

    Unanswered: Noobie SQL question

    I am getting this message when I try to open the database in the enterprise manager. In all other locations it is telling me that the database is running any thoughts on how to resolve this?


    The SQL Server \\CRISPINDB1 is not known to be running. Are you sure you wish to connect?

    Anything at all will be a great help to me thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    is \\CRISPINDB1 your machine or a server ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    you've got to start SQL Server services

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    \\CRISPINDB1 is the name of the machine and the services are running. The machines that need to access the database seem to not be having a problem getting to it and using it. Only when I try to access it thru Enterprise Manager.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    I am using the Enterprise manager on the machine that the database is running. Sorry about not giving all the info to know whats going on.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    maybe you need to add the instancename

    \\ServerName\InstanceName

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4

    Re: Noobie SQL question

    With further investigation I have learned that patients are a virtue I was just trying to expand the tree before the application had polled he database. Thank you for your help on this operator caused problem. And with this I am a little less of a Noob about SQL.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •