Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393

    Cool Unanswered: French Canadian in France that needs help

    Peaked a look, hey?
    now try answering this


    I've got on my computer
    - SQL Server 2K
    - my database

    I open SQL Enterprise Manager

    How can I create a new - L O C A L - Server under my Server Group
    WITHOUT using the computer name (computername\instancename)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    5,799
    Provided Answers: 11
    Do you mean register one server twice? Not sure it can be done. Several folks around here have tried to do it, in order to have two different logins in Enterprise Manager (I don't even want to know why). You could try setting up an alias for the local machine in the Client Network Utility. I do not think anyone here has tried that out, yet. Good luck.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    how do you put an alias on the computer name with windows XP ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Are you asking how to create a share?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    nope


    I don't want to have the computer name in the server name
    to have an identical Server name for all the computers
    installed with my program

    (remember the 2000 dbs ?)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    I was trying to forget....

    Damn....now I need to go shake up a pitcher....

    I would start a list of all the Issues you run in to because of this design....

    Did we say if this was MSDE or not? Gotta be, right?

    Also what was the front end in? Is it also a local install just like the db?

    Can the front end determine where it is and the establish it's own connection to the db?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    I want to able to connect to SQL Server with

    driver={SQL Server};server=UniqueMachineName\Mercure;uid=sa;pw d=xxxx


    OR


    driver={SQL Server};server=(local);uid=sa;pwd=xxxx



    I was able to add a LOCAL server with SQL Server 7
    but not with SQL Server 2K

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    10,322
    Just to get this straight...this is because they are all stand alone database....or no?

    And if they are do they talk to a single backend repository?
    Brett
    8-)

    It's a Great Day for America everybody!

    dbforums Yak CorralRadio 'Rita
    dbForums Member List
    I'm Good Once as I ever was

    The physical order of data in a database has no meaning.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    yes they are all stand alone database
    and yes I could get the machine name to build my connection string

    BUT i've got Crystal reports directly connected to the database
    and I don't want to have 2000 reports saved with different
    connection string

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Over here we call them "Freedom Canadians".
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    Nice !


    you've been to Quebec ?
    nicest city in the olllllllllllll world !


    but icy-cold skiing

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    I was planning to visit Quebec, but my buddy Conan O'Brien advised me not to!
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    Ok ok ok ok ok....

    Conan's a jackass who has never been funny.

    Je me souviens!
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    FRANCE
    Posts
    393
    If you go, take a drink for me at the Chateau Frontenack

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    12,592
    Provided Answers: 1
    I should be so lucky. Maybe we can hold a conference there and get our companies to pay for it.

    Brett, do you suppose they serve Margaritas?
    www.chateaufrontenac.com
    If it's not practically useful, then it's practically useless.

    blindman
    www.chess.com: "sqlblindman"
    www.LobsterShot.blogspot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •