Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Quick question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150

    Unanswered: Quick question

    Hi,

    I realize this is pretty basic, but how do i know weather i'm programming my procedures in DAO or ADO? do i simply go into References from the tools menu of the IDE and see which libraries a checked?

    Right now, i have no DAO libraries checked, only ADO, so does that mean that all my programming is already done in ADO?

    I suspect it to be the case, but i'd like a confirmation from the pros!

    Thanks!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    i'm probably not the right one to answer since i am (still) strictly DAO, but my impression is that almost everything one does in code is neither ADO nor DAO. it's only when you start messing with data objects and the like that you need one model or the other.

    restated: if you didn't mess with a recordset in code, you probably didn't use ADO or DAO.

    if you had DAO code but not the reference, you would know about it!

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,312
    If you are using Access 2000 or above then the default is ADO. If you are using Access 97 then the default is DAO. If you want your code to be totally clear then add either ADO. or DAO. to and variable declarations. Ex.:

    Dim rstRecords as DAO.Recordset

    Dim rstRecords as ADO.Recordset

    Otherwise the references and their order determines which you are using.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150
    Thanks for the quick replies! this is exactly the answer i was looking for! I'll be splitting up my db into client server soon, and i read that my code needs to be ADO only for this.

    Cheers!!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Préverenges, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,740
    ...call me obstinate if you like, by my client/server works just fine with DAO (and i don't have to worry about ADOs buffering peculiarities).

    izy
    currently using SS 2008R2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    150
    Really? what kind of back end r u using? I'll be using the MSDE 2000 back end. MS pretty much says that for this, you have to use ADO only.... but MS is not to be trusted blindly!

    Thanks!
    Cheers!

    Mr.Crud

    There are 10 kinds of people, ones that understand digital, others that dont

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •