Unanswered: MSDE running much slower than Access dB??

I have a large VB 6.0 application running with Jet 4.0 Access DB. I am considering moving the DB to MSDE. For testing, I installed MSDE on another computer in a peer to peer network running XP sp1, loaded up the DB from Access to MSDE2000A -- all without problem. (I should add the obvious fact I am new to using SQL server.)

What I find is that with a relatively small test DB, running just a single instance of the application, query response from MSDE is taking several seconds (4-5 second lag) longer than response from the Access DB, which runs extremely fast. This is with the Access DB installed on the same network drive, running the same application and the same queries syntax -- only changing configuration of connection for each (SQL vs Jet 4).

Any clues as to what may be going on? The lag time is unacceptable. I am using SQL password instead of NT security. It seems the process is perhaps lagging in the process of authorization.

Thanks for any suggestions or ideas on this.

I am having a problem with SQL server 2005, in that it is very slow compared to MS Access Database when fetching

We migrated our ASP application to point use SQL Server 2005 as a back end. Earlier the application was using MS

Access database. To our surprise a simple operation of opening a table and fetching records through recordset is

very very slow in SQL server 2005 when compared it with MS Access database.

We have two machines. 1) Machine-SQL having SQL server 2005 installed 2) Machine-MS Access having MS Access

Following is the configuration of both machines:

16 processors
    32 GB RAM
    3 Tera byte hard disk (approx)
    X64 processor
    32 bit SQL Server 2005

Machine-MS Access
    4 processor
    4 GB RAM
    x86 processor
    800 GB Hard disk (Approx)

Looking at the configuration, you can say that the machine, on which SQL server 2005 is running, is very very high