Unhappy Unanswered: Function You Entered Can't Be Used in This Expression

Hi All,

I am a new member here and have a very strange problem. Just so you know where I'm coming from, I have been building MS Access databases for several years, but I have no formal programming training and I am completely self-taught. I have the benefit of using several databases created by "real" programmers and I have learned a lot from them. My databases work pretty well, altho I am sure that they could be more streamlined if I knew what I was doing!

I'm using MS Access 97 on a Windows NT 4.0 system. We are on a LAN and there are many users. I use Access 2000 at home and occasionally create a db there and convert it to 97 for use at work. I think this might be related to my problem.

I have a simple process attached to the BeforeUpdate event on a form. It checks to see if the record has been changed and if it has, asks the user if they want to save their changes. If they say yes, the changes are saved, but I also have a little form pop up where they enter their initials and click OK. At that point, their initials are added to the record AND the "update" date is changed to the current date. This all works beautifully on a different database, and all the users of that database have no trouble.

However, for this new database, users are getting the error message 2426 with the text as shown in the Subject Line to this posting. When they click ok on the error box, they get a run-time error that basically shows the macro that updates the date is not working. The initials are updated just fine, but the date is not updated.

The strangest part of this is that it works JUST FINE on my workstation. For at least 2 other people, they get the error. I expect to hear from more as they start using it.