Unanswered: MS Access to Microsft Word NO IDEA!

Hello eveyone,

I have a problem, here it goes....

I have a database and in that database I can creat a report for orders from customers. This report actutally is a invoice. So in a form if i choose a specific order and click on Print Invoice. an automatic Report opens up and shows the invoice....but of course to send to the customers I have to write a opening letter which goes over small details from the Invoice...

Currently I am opening a saved opening letter and changing the To, Invoice number and invoice amount in the letters but of course it is too much when I have to handle like 30 or them for each customer, I am a human sometimes I make mistakes writing the opening letter in ms word.

Well I want to do some thing that in Access when I priview the report and click on a button that word document opens with the values from the current report that I am viewing....

is it possible to do this....I am really new in ms access and I want to save some time in work...Please help me

Thanks a lot in advance..

Re: MS Access to Microsft Word NO IDEA!

Originally posted by emree
    Well I want to do some thing that in Access when I priview the report and click on a button that word document opens with the values from the current report that I am viewing....
    In Word: Tools/Letters and Mailing - Show Mail merge Toolbar. The first two buttons is type of document and data source. With the data source, point to the query that the report is based on. Then, place the cursor where you want to insert fields from the query, and use the toolbar to choose which field to link to for each place in your document.

Daniel.

i kind of get it but i want to get the values from current report that I am viewing...like in the report if i press a key like F3 than microsoft word opens up with the opening letter and inserts the values form the report....is it possible