Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: what is the string after init.ora.xxxxxxxx

    In our ORACLE 9.2.0.1 installation I found the init.ora file BUT it was called init.ora.9283742347423 instead of init.ora.

    Is this valid and if yes what does the string mean? I never saw an init.ora file with an additional string but things may have changed since I stopped supporting Oracle db's after 8.1.

    Regards
    werner

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    99

    Re: what is the string after init.ora.xxxxxxxx

    I'm not sure where that came from!! how was the database created.....??? that naming convention means the file does not complete with the .ora extention.

    if this is a test instance and the file is a parameter file and not a spfile.
    I would try following.

    1) shutdown db
    3) rename file to initsid.ora
    4) startup pfile='initsid.ora';

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Eternity
    Posts
    31
    In 9i you donot need the init.ora file at all.
    There is this concept of SPFILE(A binary file) through which u can make all the changes to the parameters that were done in the init.ora file.
    When u say startup ,by default then SPFILE (Location: $ORACLE_HOME/database/SPFILE<SID>.ora) will be picked.
    And yeah as suggested earlier,if you want your init.ora to be picked,then use startup PFILE='<init.ora file NAME>'( with full patch if its not in the $ORACLE_HOME/database/ directory)
    Thanx
    Vijay

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks everyone! I had this in my guts feeling.
    My next question is then how do we change parameters in order to be loaded by the spfile<SID>.ora?

    Regards
    Werner

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Eternity
    Posts
    31
    Modifying Parameters in SPFILE
    The ALTER SYSTEM SET command is used to change the value of instance parameters.
    ALTER SYSTEM SET parameter_name = parameter_value
    [COMMENT 'text'] [SCOPE = MEMORY|SPFILE|BOTH]
    [SID= 'sid'|'*']
    where
    parameter_name: Name of the parameter to be changed
    parameter_value: Value the parameter is being changed to
    COMMENT: A comment to be added into the SPFILE next to the parameter being altered
    SCOPE: Determines if change should be made in memory, SPFILE, or in both areas
    MEMORY: Changes the parameter value only in the currently running instance
    SPFILE: Changes the parameter value in the SPFILE only
    BOTH: Changes the parameter value in the currently running instance and the SPFILE
    SID: Identifies the ORACLE_SID for the SPFILE being used
    'sid': Specific SID to be used in altering the SPFILE
    '*': Uses the default SPFILE


    ex: ALTER SYSTEM SET undo_tablespace = UNDO2 SCOPE=BOTH;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Thanks again.

    I followed the step to alter the parameter processes but I got the following error:

    ora-02065: Illigal option for alter system

    and the star was under the word processes. I was connected as system/xxx as sysdba. The instance was running at the time of the execution of the command.

    Any ideas?

    Werner

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    370
    It isn't clear whether you have created an spfile.
    Have you created one?

    Logged on as sysdba and issued the command:

    create spfile from pfile;

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    Hello,

    yes we have an spfile.ora and I can't create it again if I issue the create spfile from pfile command again as it tells me that there is already one created.

    However I am still not able to change the processes parameter to 500 (from 150).

    Regards
    Werner
    Last edited by noethew; 02-24-04 at 06:40.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    370
    Processes is not a dynamic parameter.

    You need to set it with:

    alter system set processes=xxx scope=spfile;

    It will take effect next time you restart the database.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Eternity
    Posts
    31
    Adding to the previous update ,please check the values ISSES_MODIFIABLEand ISSYS_MODIFIABLE from V$PARAMETER for the parameters that you want to change.If the values are FALSE,you can update only in the SPFILE using the option scope=SPFILE.Then these changes become effective only when u bounce the DB.
    Please note that you should login as SYSDBA to make changes in the SPFILE.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6
    great stuff!!

    Thanks everyone for their input. It worked!

    Regards
    Werner

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •