Unanswered: Querying recordsets

Hi:

I have a working search form for my Access db: I am in clean up mode to try to improve it.

I am new to VB so the approach I have taken may be flawed but it produces the correct results.

If the user selects "Smith" as the author, "Map" as the publication type and "2002" as the year, via VB I create:

SQLAuthorString = "Author='Smith'"
    SQLPubTypeString = "Format='Map'"
    SQLYearString = "Year='2000'"

Set rs = db.OpenRecordset("SELECT Title FROM Publications WHERE" & SQLAuthorString & " AND " & SQLPubTypeString & " AND " & SQLYearString & ";)

This example is very simple compared with some of the queries I am building whereby BETWEEN is used for a date range, multiple authors are selected, etc so the final SQL string could be ABSOLUTELY MASSIVE but it works and works well.

My thoughts are that rather than building a single MASSIVE query string, create a series of recursive query strings. Using the example above:

(1) Query the database based on Author,
    (2) Query the recordset(1) based on Format,
    (3) Query the recordset(2) based on Year.

The process I have worked out in scratch is to query the database and dump the results of the first query into rsMaster. Then query rsMaster and dump the results into rsTemp1. Then insert all of rsTemp1 into rsMaster so that the nest query queries rsMaster and writes rsTemp1 back into rsMaster again, and so on. Here is the code (ignore the syntax for the moment):

rsMaster = SELECT * FROM database WHERE Author=criteria
    rsTemp1 = SELECT * FROM rsMaster WHERE Format=criteria
    INSERT INTO rsMaster (*) VALUES (rsTemp1.field1, rsTemp1.field2, ...)

But in the insert line cannot find rsTemp1. I presume that this is because rsTemp1 is a recordset, not a "real" query.

Any suggestions?

TIA,

Jules
    Last edited by jrickards; 02-23-04 at 16:07.

Re: Querying recordsets

What is the advantage of doing it your way?