Unanswered: newbie questions

I am pretty new to databases and was wondering whether you guys can help me out or point me in some sort of direction. I am working on my senior design project for college and my group decided to use SQL Server for our databasing needs. So far we installed SQL Server and created out database with permissions and all that stuff. So here is my question:

As of right now we are talking with a company (sniffer software) to get access to some of there code. This program provides information such as host ip and mac address, destination ip and mac address, protocol, port number, bits in, bits out, etc. What we wanted to do was get access to where this information is stored in there program and then push it to our database so we can do analysis on the data. But aside from getting access to this information in the program (we looked into writing an application that does all this ourselves but we are on a time limit) I am confused how to set the database up so that we can have automatic updates to the database using the information we pull from the program. I did a search here and did not find anything and i have been looking on google and the such and haven't had any luck finding anything that will point me in the right direction. If any of you guys can help us out with information it would be greatly appreciated

thanks
    Evan

If you have access to their soure code, you would have to add a procedure somewhere in to write the data it collects to the DB. the procedure would have to called each time the program identified a new packet.

Alternatively, if the program stores the information in log form, you would need to write an app to parse the log file and then write the data to SQL.

Both of these are non-trivial tasks, but the might prove very educational.

Regards,

hmscott