Question Unanswered: Creating a History Table

Hi!

I am still new with access

I would like to create a history table, lets call it (table B) based on another (table A). Everytime a record is changed in table A, I would like that record to be added to table B as a new record.

Is this possible?

Thanks,

Owen

Hi

is there a particular reason for duplicating data in this way(if i understand you that is)

else you could set the record to have its constant data copied and add the adjustment to the records required. In this way you will have all the information regarding that record in the same table so when called it could produce the full history for you with out having to worry about secondary tables and tracing from 2 seperate tables when an enquiery takes place

gareth

If the back end is Access then you will have to add the code in whatever process you are using to save the record. Transaction processing could be a bit of a pain on a bound form. Access has no triggers on the tables like some high end databases.

Transaction processing is making sure that both tables get updated or the insert/update gets rolled back on both tables.

On a bound form you could put the code in the after update event of the form. But be sure to test for the record in table A to be sure the changes were commited there first before writing to table B.

If you are using code to do the insert/update then use BeginTrans, EndTrans before and after the two updates. and trap errors and execute Rollback. Much easier.
    KC

Originally posted by garethfx
    Hi

is there a particular reason for duplicating data in this way(if i understand you that is)