Red face Unanswered: Summary Field does not update as expected

I am a newbie so please forgive my ignorance.

I created a simple database with a layout that identifies Credit Card and debit balance in the body. In the Footer i put a summary field that sums the balances of all the credit card records. Now, what i understood was that when the fields involved in the summary field are updated or a record is added the summary value will update. This does not happen.

What does happen is that when i change a balance record the summary goes blank until i click on the summary field itself ( I donot have this field selected in the tab order). This is not what i expected. I expected the summary field to update once i updated the balance field. Can someone please help me with this?

Thank You In Advance.

Re: Summary Field does not update as expected

I can't replicate the situation that you're encountering. But, try checking your "balance" field and see if it's "indexing" is turned off, on or set to index automaticly.
    This maybe also a result of the number of records that you are returning data on (slows down the summary field).
    Good luck

Originally posted by dmilbrath
    I am a newbie so please forgive my ignorance.

I created a simple database with a layout that identifies Credit Card and debit balance in the body. In the Footer i put a summary field that sums the balances of all the credit card records. Now, what i understood was that when the fields involved in the summary field are updated or a record is added the summary value will update. This does not happen.

What does happen is that when i change a balance record the summary goes blank until i click on the summary field itself ( I donot have this field selected in the tab order). This is not what i expected. I expected the summary field to update once i updated the balance field. Can someone please help me with this?

Thank You In Advance.
    Rick Knight