Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: DB2 Database Size

    How Do I find out the size of DB2 Database on Z/OS or OS390

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    24

    Re: DB2 Database Size

    i think databases in db2 on z/os or os390 can't have a size it's 'only' a logical room for tablespaces which can have a huge size (version 7 -> 16tb and i think more). ok u can say the size of a database is to sum up the allocated space of all tablespaces within a database !

    hope this help !

    regards

    marc gaines

    Originally posted by jayan
    How Do I find out the size of DB2 Database on Z/OS or OS390

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    DB2 Database Size

    How do we handle the space occupied by Index's?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Databases on z/OS and 390 are completely different than on other DB2 platforms. A database on z/OS is just an administrative grouping of tables within one sub-system. Table names must be unique across all databases in a sub-system.

    If you want the size of the data in the whole DB2 subsystem, you could do the following:

    1. Make sure runstats is run on all tables and indexes (including the catalog). Calculate the size of the tables and indexes based on the number of rows * row length plus overhead.

    2. If you use stogroups, run the stospace utility.

    3. Look at the size of the underlying VSAM datasets which you should be able identify by a naming convention used for DB2 objects.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    DB2 Database Size

    Dont you think finding out all Tablespaces in a Database and then finding out their size would be a appropriate method of determining the size rather than doing row count * row length. Bcoz determing overheads is difficult. when u consider tablespace size it would also account for the page free space and other overheads?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    That depends on "why" you want to know the size (what you intend to do with the information). Also, you may have some tablespaces with a lot of empty pages if they haven't been reorged lately. But if you want to know the actual space currently allocated, look at the VSAM datasets or the stospace utility (if you use stogroups).
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •