Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7

    Question Unanswered: DB2 Help on Linux

    Hi
    I'm new to DB2 admin and stuff so i dont really know how to search for answers to the problems that I have so please bare with me.

    I installed DB2 Personal edition V8 on RedHat 8 - everything seemed to go fine.

    I typed db2 and got a db2 prompt
    i tried to create a table
    create table stuff1 (a int, b int)
    and got this
    SQL1024N A database connection does not exist.

    tried using the FirstSteps thing and while trying to create a database it gave me this
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.
    and something about database manager not being started
    so I type db2start
    and got this again
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.

    at the install - it create an instance for me named cloud
    and service name db2c_cloud on port 50000
    the system i'm running on is a typical desktop
    Intel P4 2.6GHz
    512MB ram
    swap space is 510MB
    so i dont think i'm really running out of memory

    I'm not a complete SQL newbie (had experience using MySQL)
    so please if you're going to refer me to a page, dont send me to an SQL tutorial, please send me only to a page that is specific to my problem as i dont really know whats going - i just want it up and running so i can start my assignment

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    456

    Re: DB2 Help on Linux

    Not sure about the possible solution but take a look at this link:

    http://www.experts-exchange.com/Data..._20872939.html

    dollar

    Originally posted by deity_me
    Hi
    I'm new to DB2 admin and stuff so i dont really know how to search for answers to the problems that I have so please bare with me.

    I installed DB2 Personal edition V8 on RedHat 8 - everything seemed to go fine.

    I typed db2 and got a db2 prompt
    i tried to create a table
    create table stuff1 (a int, b int)
    and got this
    SQL1024N A database connection does not exist.

    tried using the FirstSteps thing and while trying to create a database it gave me this
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.
    and something about database manager not being started
    so I type db2start
    and got this again
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.

    at the install - it create an instance for me named cloud
    and service name db2c_cloud on port 50000
    the system i'm running on is a typical desktop
    Intel P4 2.6GHz
    512MB ram
    swap space is 510MB
    so i dont think i'm really running out of memory

    I'm not a complete SQL newbie (had experience using MySQL)
    so please if you're going to refer me to a page, dont send me to an SQL tutorial, please send me only to a page that is specific to my problem as i dont really know whats going - i just want it up and running so i can start my assignment

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    61

    Re: DB2 Help on Linux

    Originally posted by deity_me
    Hi
    I'm new to DB2 admin and stuff so i dont really know how to search for answers to the problems that I have so please bare with me.

    I installed DB2 Personal edition V8 on RedHat 8 - everything seemed to go fine.

    I typed db2 and got a db2 prompt
    i tried to create a table
    create table stuff1 (a int, b int)
    and got this
    SQL1024N A database connection does not exist.

    tried using the FirstSteps thing and while trying to create a database it gave me this
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.
    and something about database manager not being started
    so I type db2start
    and got this again
    SQL1220N The database manager shared memory set cannot be allocated.

    at the install - it create an instance for me named cloud
    and service name db2c_cloud on port 50000
    the system i'm running on is a typical desktop
    Intel P4 2.6GHz
    512MB ram
    swap space is 510MB
    so i dont think i'm really running out of memory

    I'm not a complete SQL newbie (had experience using MySQL)
    so please if you're going to refer me to a page, dont send me to an SQL tutorial, please send me only to a page that is specific to my problem as i dont really know whats going - i just want it up and running so i can start my assignment

    Thanks

    just wonder did u applied any Fix Pack ?
    as this problem did happened to me while appliying Fix Pack 4
    if u apply FixPack , make sure that u had updated yr instance ( check readme file with fixpack)



    Anyway, if yr system run correctly u can do the following :

    1. db2start should not give any error

    2. db2 list db directory should give u list of exsisting DB, if u donot have any create one from command line ( db2 create db test ), note u should be logged on db2inst1

    3. connect to test

    4. create table t1 ( c1 char(10) ) ;

    this should work if u have installed db2 correctly
    Last edited by hanyheggy; 02-28-04 at 22:25.
    hany heggy,
    IBM certified Professional, AIX system support
    www.melodyhits.tv

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy

    I didnt install any fixpack

    whats the difference between an instance and a database?
    do i connect to an instance or do i connect to a DB?

    when i type "get instance" it returns "current database manager instance is: cloud"


    i just wanna start doing my SQL

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Go to Usefull DB2 Stuff thread above and you can find a link to download the manuals in PDF format.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7
    I downloaded and read the manauals.
    Did you? because i didnt see anything that was particularly useful to my situation.

    Again please dont treat me as being as knowledgable as you guys/girls are. I dont know how to search for a solution to my specific problem, thats why I'm asking. My best friend, Google, isnt directing me to the answers I need.


    If anyone got DB2 V8 working under Redhat 8
    PLEASE tell me how you did it. As information is quite hard to find on IBM's web site

    Thanks (to those people that help)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Since I have posted over 875 times on this forum, it is safe to assume that I have downloaded and read the manuals. There is a Master Index that will point you to the correct part of the manuals to answer at least some of your questions.

    Since you apparently don't know the difference between an instance and database, I don't believe you have read the manuals.

    Also, since you claim to be the Deity, I don’t understand why you need to ask others for help.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7
    almighty master of the forums
    please kindly direct me to the page that will answer my question

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    61
    Originally posted by deity_me
    almighty master of the forums
    please kindly direct me to the page that will answer my question
    is yr redhat linux updated to the latest level ?
    i mean kernel and rpm's ?

    why did u create an instance named cloud ?

    can u try to uninstall DB2 and reinstall it again and accept the default options

    by the way i am working with DB2 under linux, i have 5 productions servers (RH8, RH9, RH AS 3.0) all running db2 8.1.4 smoothly, never see these errors.
    hany heggy,
    IBM certified Professional, AIX system support
    www.melodyhits.tv

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7
    i didnt update redhat
    its a clean install - default kernel cause thats what IBMs website said it supported.

    cloud is my user name on the computer
    so i guess thats what it called the instance

    I'll try to reinstall sometime later today

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Try dropping and recreating the instance ... That is the solution I find on the internet ...

    As you are a self-confessed DB2 newbie, do not try to play around tweaking parameters unless you really want to create problems (eg, you aspire to be a DBA) ... For general purposes, the default parms are OK ...

    If you wish to get a flying start with DB2, visit http://www-106.ibm.com/developerwork...to-db2udb.html ...

    As you seem to be a MySQL Expert, it should be a cake-walk if you take some time to read the manuals ...

    HTH

    Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    7
    Thanks for you help guys
    I reinstalled it - and this time I forced the install program to create a database for that tools thingy - now i'll just use that DB for all my needs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •