Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: DTS problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    15

    Unanswered: DTS problem

    Hi

    I am trying to invoke a dts from asp.net and was informed that I need to create a name key pair file and runtime callable wrapper....which consiste sof changing the command line...but I cannot fine the files. I am using web matrix...which I think is the problem.

    Has anyone found the same problems...I am looking for the Bin directory in web matrix and tlbimp.exe.

    Any help would really be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    It sounds to me like you are trying to do things the complicated way.

    Are you wanting to create a new dts with your asp.Net or just execute an existing dts package?

    There are plently of stored procedures you can call via standard ADO to excute existing pacakges, if that's what you want to do.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    15
    Hi

    Thanks for your reply...I am just trying to invoke a dts from an asp.net web page...I have searched the internet but cannot find any information on how to do this in vb.

    Do you know of any good sites?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    But it is an existing DTS package right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    15
    yeah it is

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    Well the way I normally run a dts package from asp (and it will work from asp.Net as well) is to create a job to execute the package and then (whenever I want to run it) I make an ADO call to the database using sp_start_job.

    Now I know there is another stored proc or something that other people use to run the specific dts (and thus you don't need a job) but I can't remember what it was.

    If you want to run things from the command line, why not use dtsrun to execute your package?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    15
    Hi

    Thanks for the reply...I have found asp code to run the dts...do you know what asp.net uses instead of the 'set'

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    1,618
    just in clude a reference to the component in question, then you should be able to just declare the varible the same way you would any other variable.

    set in asp is only used for objects, in theory everything in asp.Net is an object so you don't need to diffientate

    so if you are using c# something like.... (note it's only like this)

    using Data.OLEDB;

    will set you reference then.

    connection myConn = blah blah blah;

    will create your connection object.

    HTH

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •